A Scribbler at Heart (Why I Write)

I am a writer by nature. It’s how I process my thoughts. If I’m not scribbling them down, I keep repeating them in my head and make no progress. As I write, I work out aspects I didn’t even know I was trying to process. New ideas come to light.

I used to write on The Odyssey (here) about faith and other random stuff. That ended back in 2018 and I’ve felt somewhat incomplete all this time. I am convicted whenever I hear the parable of the talents because I hoard my gift and all God has meant me to share. So this is my attempt to heed His call; it won’t be perfect, but I trust He will work through me all the same. My prayer is that anyone who chooses to spend their time here will be pointed to Christ and Him alone.

The theme of my blog is based on a saying from the seventeenth century: “The longest way round is the shortest way home.” Recent events in my life and in the world make it seem like every plan has been sidetracked or disappointed. It feels like the roundabout way sometimes. So I look forward to working through these struggles from different angles and call attention to the truth. Lord willing, I will be writing reflections on my faith and hope in Christ. Here are some other possibilities I also may share: short stories, research about fair trade, seasons and plants, the simple life, book reviews, poems, recipes… who knows!

I can’t wait to see what comes out of this!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started